somniare.

sometimes, my head explodes

She said, perhaps April 19, 2010

Filed under: in.between,my evolution — somniare @ 7:29 pm

I found one sparkling silver-white hair today. Amidst the ashy greys and the black that is slowly becoming overwhelmed, this single strand caught my eye. Like a prized souvenir, it glistened there full of memories… nights to forget bleeding into days to remember… broken glass and fingernails and hearts… a spine curved beneath the weight of a burdened mind… the soreness in a phantom scar that should have long been healed but never let go.

In that one thread- a life I treasure, regret, own, and belong to. All at once, there came sadness and a smile. Maybe it’s all okay.

 

One Response to “She said, perhaps”

  1. passingthru Says:

    That was beautiful. I’m speechless and in awe of the mind that turned what many would curse about into something to treasure. You alone have changed my thought process. I no longer dread going gray and will remember your words each time I find one.

    Thank you.


Leave a Reply

